Blog 2: AstroLOGY

I’ve always been intrigued by Zodiac symbols and the origin of astrology. To be honest, when I was in third grade and we were told that we were going to be doing an astronomy unit, I genuinely believed we were going to be learning about our Zodiac signs. To say the least, I was extremely disappointed when we didn’t discuss how the fate of our lives and days were affected by the cosmos, and after third grade, I sort of gave up on astrology. However, since being in this astronomy class and learning about the Zodiacs, I have a new found interest in them, although not in the way I used to. Even after being in class for a couple weeks, my mind has started thinking about the vastness of the universe and how small that makes me feel. I think most people submit to reading about astrology and their Zodiac not because they really believe it, but rather because it gives people a way to connect to a universe that is so large, so endless. It gives people a way to feel like they are part of something bigger, and I don’t blame anyone for trying to connect with the stars.

zodiac20stars

(They’re all so nice to look at!)

One thought on “Blog 2: AstroLOGY

  1. I enjoyed reading your post! I also enjoy learning about astrology but especially finding how it overlaps with astronomy. After reading your post, I was wondering: What is your renewed interest in astrology and how is it different than it used to be? Also, check out my blog if you want to read some posts about astrology’s intersections with astronomy!

    Like

Leave a comment